Homemade Stromboli

I remember a trip as a child to see my friend and mentor, Karen M., who lived in Baltimore.  It was the first time I had ever been to Baltimore and it was breathtaking!  After a long day of touring the city, my mother and I walked through The Harborplace Mall at the water’s edge to look for something to eat.  We stopped at a deli-style countertop that boasted of imported italian meats and ordered something she or I had never eaten before – a fresh-baked stromboli.  With the first bite of the freshly baked bread mixing with the savory oils from the italian meats, we were hooked.  We have searched for that italian restaurant ever since, but it dissappeared.  Desperate to relive that memory of intense flavor, I searched the internet in the years following to find something easy I could make for my family when I get the hankerin’ for a stromboli.  I think I came pretty darn close….

baked_stromboli2

Recipe:
1 can refrigerated pizza dough, unrolled on a baking sheet
12 large slices pepperoni
12 slices genoa salami
6 slices honey ham
Optional – sliced or cooked italian sausage
1 small onion
1/2 green bell pepper
9 slices Provolone Cheese
Italian seasoning

for baking -egg wash (1/4 c egg with a teaspoon of water)  – I just use egg beaters straight out for this

For Dipping:
I/2 c pizza sauce, storebought or homemade

Spread the pizza dough all the way accross your baking sheet, over parchment paper.  Layer all the meats on first, then the onions and peppers, sprinkled with italian seasoning, then layer on your cheese.

stromoli_prepare

Start at one end, rolling tight, keeping the cheese in place by tucking it in as you roll.  When you get to the end, pinch the ends shut and tuck under the stromboli roll.  Brush the top with a light coating of egg beaters.  Bake at 375 for 30-40 minutes.

stromboli-roll

baked_stromboli

Slice horizontally and dip in pizza sauce!

One thought on “Homemade Stromboli

Leave a Reply

